Food-based dietary guidelines - Nigeria

Post date Thursday, 8 February, 2018 - 14:35
Document Type Tools and Guidance, Manual/Guideline
Content Themes Cash and Vouchers, Nutrition, Markets
Sources FAO, Food Security Sector

Food guide

The Nigerian food guide is a food pyramid divided into five food groups. At the bottom are bread, grains and tubers, followed by vegetables and fruits. Both groups are to be eaten at every meal. Eggs, fish, meat and dairy are on the third level, and are to be eaten in moderation. Oils and fats should be eaten sparingly according to the pyramid, with confectionery limited to rare occasions. A glass of water is placed outside of the pyramid with the advice to always drink plenty of water.

Download a-as841e.pdf
PDF - 8.64 MB