News

WEBINAR: Humanitarian field leadership on protection: Why it matters? How to do it?

Post date Wednesday, 30 November, 2016 - 17:36

Humanitarian Coordinators (HCs) and Humanitarian Country Teams (HCTs) are responsible for ensuring that protection is central in humanitarian action. This expectation is reflected in the IASC Principals Statement on the centrality of protection in humanitarian action from December 2013. But what concrete actions are expected of HCs and HCT to fulfil this responsibility? And how do they relate to other stakeholders?

Based on their experiences, the speakers will outline practical steps that senior humanitarian leaders in field operations can take to:

Take forward the key leadership responsibilities of HCs and HCTs on protection
Capitalise on the complementary roles of HCs and HCT members vis-à-vis the Protection Cluster and Inter-Cluster Coordination Group
Advocate with the different stakeholders in-country to maximise protection outcomes

Date: Tuesday 13 December 2016

Click to register:

Session 1
Geneva 10:00 Amman 11:00 Juba 12:00 Bangkok 16:00 Sydney 20:00

Session 2
New York 10.00 Dakar 15:00 Geneva 16:00 Amman 17:00 Juba 18:00

Questions are welcome in advance of the webinar

You can e-mail questions to the STAIT before the webinar or submit them to the presenters live, via the chat function.

All documents relevant to this webinar and a recording of the event are posted on the STAIT Website.

 

Panellists:

Eugene Owusu
Eugene Owusu is the Deputy Special Representative of the UN Secretary General, Resident and Humanitarian Coordinator, South Sudan
Eugene Owusu has served with the United Nations since 1996, most recently as the Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-General and UN Resident and Humanitarian Coordinator for South Sudan.

Volker Turk
Volker Turk is Assistant High Commissioner for Refugees – Protection of UNHCR. Volker Türk has served with the United Nations since 2000, most recently as UNHCR’s Assistant High Commissioner for Protection.

For help logging on to the webinar, see the login guide here.

What is the STAIT?

The Senior Transformative Agenda Implementation Team (STAIT) was created by the IASC Emergency Directors’ Group (EDG) in December 2013. Its purpose is to provide peer support to Humanitarian Coordinators and Humanitarian Country Teams to strengthen the effectiveness of humanitarian response in the field. The STAIT reports to the IASC EDG.

In addition you can access useful ideas and practical steps for how HCs and HCTs can take forward their responsibilities on the centrality of protection by referring to our joint Global Protection Cluster and STAIT “HC and HCT note on protection”. It can be accessed here.
We hope you can join us for the webinar!