News

WEBINAR: Addressing Gender-related Challenges in Remote Mobile Data Collection

Post date Thursday, 1 December, 2016 - 15:46

12 December 2016

9am EST/2pm Dakar/3pm Rome/5pm Nairobi

Exploring Key Questions:

Women’s Participation: How can we engage more women when conducting surveys via mobile phone? How can qualitative research help improve female participation rates?

Analyzing Data for Zero Hunger: How do low female participation rates bias our data and thus our ability to design effective, evidence-based programmes? Given the barriers to women’s participation, what can we do right now to analyze our data in a way that better represents women’s experiences? Are we even asking the right questions?

Mobile’s Potential: What are the untapped possibilities for using remote mobile data collection to collect information on both men’s and women’s experiences (e.g protection issues like anonymous reporting of gender-based violence)? What are the limitations?

Panelists:

Joyce Luma, Country Director, WFP South Sudan (former head of WFP Trends and Analysis Service): Gender, mobile phone surveys, and data analysis for Zero Hunger

Sangita Vyas, Managing Director, r.i.c.e. (Research Institute for Compassionate Economics): Methodologies for capturing women’s experiences in mobile phone surveys in India
Dr. Micah Boyer, University of South Florida: Women, markets, and mobile phones in the Sahel
Kusum Hachhethu, WFP mVAM Team and Nutritionist, Qualitative research for using mVAM to reach rural Kenyan women

To connect, go to the webinar link: https://www.bigmarker.com/world-food-programme/Gender-Remote-Mobile-Data-Collection